10 glorious new books to get your hands on right now. ‹ Literary Hub

Katie Yee

July 26, 2022, 4:55am

Coming to an indie bookstore/library near you today!

*

Dwyer Murphy, An Honest Living

Dwyer Murphy, An Honest Living
(Viking)

“Like the best noir practitioners, Murphy uses the mystery as scaffolding to assemble a world of fallen dreams and doom-bitten characters.”
–The New York Times Book Review

Elaine Castillo, How to Read Now: Essays

Elaine Castillo, How To Read Now
(Viking)

How to Read Now offers its audience the opportunity to look past the simplicity we’re all too often spoon-fed into order to restore ourselves to chaos and complexity—a way of seeing and reading that demands so much more of us but offers even more in return.”
–Los Angeles Times

year of miracles

Ella Risbridger, The Year of Miracles
(Bloomsbury)

“…charming … Risbridger writes sensitively about grief: how it hits at odd times, like going to the new corner shop or deciding to make a favorite recipe, or, conversely, making (or ordering) food that Jim would have hated.”
–Shelf Awareness

the tablet of destinies

Roberto Calasso, tr. Tim Parks, The Tablet of Destinies
(FSG)

“A universe of blood, violence, and magic … A vigorous rendering of the remote past.”
–Kirkus

seven stories_gina berriault

Gina Berriault, Seven Stories
(Counterpoint)

“Berriault writes real fiction … She deepens reality, complements it and affords us the bliss of knowing, for a moment, what we cannot know.”
–The Nation

inventing the it girl

Hilary A. Hallett, Inventing the It Girl
(Liveright)

“A terrific biography of a revolutionary 19th-century British author and sexual trailblazer.”
–Kirkus

Kathy Kleiman, Proving Ground
(Grand Central Publishing)

“In an engaging narrative in the vein of Hidden Figures, Kleiman shares the background of each of these women as well as how they became a part of a secret U.S. Army project.”
–Kirkus

Antonio Padilla, Fantastic Numbers and Where to Find Them
(FSG)

“Conceptualizing the real-world application of abstract mathematics is every professor’s dream for their students, and Padilla makes it a reality.”
–Scientific American

Jon Raymond, Denial

Jon Raymond, Denial
(Simon & Schuster)

“Raymond satisfies with a clever vision of a not-too-distant future. The moral ambiguity at the center leaves readers with much to chew on.”
–Publishers Weekly

Poukahangatus

Tayi Tibble, Poukahangatus: Poems
(Knopf)

“This chatty, winsome debut by a young New Zealand poet mines family history, Maori myth and the residue of pop culture to fashion a striking sensibility.”
–The New York Times Book Review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *