How to read the Outlander books in order

Everyone’s favorite sexy time travel romance, Outlander, finally returns for its sixth season in early 2022. But fans of Diana Gabaldon’s original book series do not have to wait that long for new content, because after seven years, Gabaldon’s is ninth Outlander novel, Tell the bees I’m gone, will be released on November 23rd. The author also recently revealed that she has started working on the tenth (and potentially last) novel in the series, so there has never been a better time to get caught up.

If you’re a fan of the show who’s just getting into the book verse, you may feel a little overwhelmed by the sheer amount of material. But fear not – we (and Gabaldon himself) are here to guide you through the cannon. First, you need to know that Outlander the series contains both great novels, shorter novels and short stories, in addition to occasional short stories. The major novels focus on Jamie and Claire Fraser, while the shorter novels and short stories follow Lord John Gray. Gabaldon has some specific guides on how to approach your reading journey, which we follow in our guide.

On her website, Gabaldon advises fans to read the great novels (that is, the nine official ones) Outlander books) in order. But she notes that “the shorter novels and short stories are all designed so that they can be read alone, without reference to each other or to [major novels]- Should you be in the mood for a light literary snack instead of a nine-course meal with a couple of wines and a dessert cart. ”

So if you want a prescribed order, you can follow our guide below to the letter. If you feel like improvising, feel free to change the order of everything except the great novels. That said, read on here Outlander series in chronological order.

Leave a Comment